MedicAlert

Medic Alert Sports Band

Image courtesy of the MedicAlert Foundation

Charlie isn’t the only one in the family with severe allergies: I am allergic to shellfish and wasps. I’ve been wearing a MedicAlert necklace off and on for much of my life and I tuck my MedicAlert card into a little pouch that I strap to my arm when I run outside. If you’re not familiar with MedicAlert, it’s a nonprofit that emergency responders can call to get information about you during an emergency. It’s handy if you’re unable to communicate. You wear a necklace, arm band, or other jewelry that has the MedicAlert symbol, and then the emergency responder checks it to get the phone number to call and your ID number. The alert jewelry also has a short note (mine points out that I’m allergic to shellfish/bees).

I noticed that MedicAlert has a new sports band and I think it’s worth pointing out. As I mentioned, I’ve been sticking my card into the pouch on my arm. The band is ideal, though, as it doesn’t look like it’ll bounce – and the tag is very recognizable. I usually don’t wear my MedicAlert necklace when I run. It bounces too much.

Digging up info on the sports band led me to check out the MedicAlert IDs for kids. I assumed that Charlie is too small for an ID, but it looks like his wrist is just big enough. Pretty soon, he’ll be wearing one, too.

By the way, please check my About page if you have questions about the products I mention.

2 thoughts on “MedicAlert

  1. Just linked to your blog from Medic Alert’s facebook page. I also have multiple food allergies, and I feel for your son! Bananas were my first allergy–it’s not a hugely common one, so people are often puzzled by it. It’s gotten much, much worse over the years. As a child, I only reacted if I ate ripe bananas, and then only a little itchiness in my mouth. As an adult, I can have a reaction if I’m in the same room with a banana, and the reaction can involve difficulty breathing. Educating my coworkers has been a challenge, but they’ve been super nice about it.

    I just wanted to share that after years and years of wondering why my brother and I both had reactions to such a random assortments of foods (banana, avocado, walnuts, melon, kiwi), I discovered that these foods often trigger reactions in people with latex allergy. http://www.latexallergyresources.org/cross-reactive-food Since it looks like your son has been spending lots of time in health care facilities, where they is often lots of latex lurking about, you may want to talk to your doctor about the possibility of a latex allergy.

    I’ve never had a reaction to latex, but I’ve decided to start minimizing my exposure, since, like my banana allergy, latex allergy typically gets worse with repeated exposure. I would like to avoid, if at all possible, getting to the point where I have a serious reaction just being around latex…. because it’s literally everywhere.

    • Thanks for the tip, Laura. That’s a good point: I was supposed to circle Yes/No about a latex allergy for Charlie on a form for a doctor the other day and I wrote in “Not sure.” He hasn’t had any reaction to latex yet, but I worry about it. He has an appt with the allergy do coming up, so I’ll mention it and see what’s what. I’m going to check out those cross-reactive foods, too.

Leave a Reply

