Square One

Well, Charlie doesn’t seem to be out of the woods on peas. At the end of Charlie’s pea challenge, the doctor said we could give him 20 peas at home, and assuming that went fine, we could start giving him food with pea protein in it. We waited for Saturday afternoon so we could both be there and so Charlie would be hours away from nap/bedtime. We cooked the 20 peas and gave them to Charlie. Max had some, too. They both begged us for more, but we stuck to the 20. Then Charlie’s face got red splotches.

After some Benadryl and plenty of sitting around in the hospital parking lot, Charlie was fine. So, not the typical horrible reaction, but something was definitely up with him. We’ll be checking in with the doc today to see what’s next. Lame, lame, lame. I so wanted this for him. And for us.

7 thoughts on “Square One

  1. I am so sorry. What a disappointment! I hope this is just a temporary setback and isn’t the end of the road on the peas. So glad you didn’t have to go to the ER.

  2. Yeah, it’s frustrating, but I think the doc will tell us that we can work to improve his situation with peas. Clearly, he reacts differently to them than to say, milk. I hope oral immunotherapy or something will be an option.

  3. Not to overstate it, but it was a total heartbreak. However, since then I’ve found a few “cheese” options that don’t use pea protein, so at least it’s still possible he might get to have some gooey treats in the short term.

  4. I’m so sorry! I know I’ve been counting down the days to our next allergy appointment because some of the Little Guy’s numbers are looking promising for possible food challenges. I think I’ll be crushed if this happens to us. Hopefully a little more time will allow you to try another challenge.

    • I hope he’s able to knock a food or two off the allergy list! Our doctor told us to try Charlie on peas again, so this weekend will determine for sure. I’m not really expecting sucess, but we’ll see.

  5. Pingback: Peas: Back On The Menu | Toxic Lasagna

Leave a Reply

